Wahib CHEHATA

Franco-Tunisian artist Wahib Chehata thrives on religious and symbolic Renaissance themes, Caravaggio’s chiaroscuro technique and the emotions of Romanticism. He has clearly retained Romanticism’s exaltation and mystery, balancing the morbid and the sublime. He displays pure and subjective creative freedom combining Orientalism, Christian mythology and contemporary technological devices: Romanticism 2.0.

In the series Renaissance, light prevails and is exported to Africa. To paint is to understand where the power of the movement resides, knowing where the key element on which it is based is hidden, where to convey feelings through the artifice of the image. This gesture cannot be easily explained because it is experienced. The painting implies sounds and smells, whether they are bitter or sweet, and makes us feel like touching them.

In a continuation of the Renaissance series, scenes and portraits, Wahib CHEHATA takes symbolism to its quintessence at the heart of a series of still lifes: Resilience.[…] The artist transcends his personal mythologies towards the universal in the light of a fascination for classical painting. In a Caravaggio-like glow, Wahib traces resilience through creativity, interprets the vicissitudes of a life through dead, motionless flesh. The condemnation of existence is on a bed of velvet. Wahib sanctifies the memory of suffering in a scenario frozen in time, revealed by a shiny light.

Download the full biography and C.V. of Wahib Chehata

Ask for the available works of art of Wahib Chehata

2018

AB IMO PECTORE, Wahib CHehata et Abdou OUOLOGUEM, Galerie MEDINA, Bamako

2017

Série Renaissance, Galerie Daar El Bachaar, Marrakech, Maroc
Série Résilience, AKAA Fair, Paris, France
Série Renaissance, Not a gallery, Paris, France
Série Renaissance, A2Z Gallery, Paris, France
Série Renaissance, A2Z Gallery, Hong Kong
Série Renaissance, Espace d’art contemporain Montresso*, Marrakech, Maroc
Série Renaissance, Présence Commune, Musée d’art Moderne et Contemporain Mohammed VI, Rabat, Maroc
Série Renaissance, Paris ART FAIR, Paris, France
Mythologies, la photographie autrement, A2Z Gallery, Paris, France

2015
Mythologies, A2Z Gallery, Paris, France
2014
Le grand remplacement, LAZAREW Gallery, Bruxelles, Belgium

bouton-retour-montresso-jardin-rouge

VIDEOS of Wahib CHEHATA

EVENTS of Wahib CHEHATA

COPYRIGHT © MONTRESSO 2016

Wahib CHEHATA

Wahib Chehata, artiste franco-tunisien, se nourrit des thèmes religieux et symboliques de la Renaissance, du clair-obscur du Caravage et des émotions du Romantisme. Du Romantisme,  il en a gardé assurément l’exaltation et le mystère, une capacité à jongler entre le morbide et le sublime, une liberté créatrice pure et subjective baignée entre l’orientalisme, les mythologies chrétiennes et les outils technologiques actuels : un romantisme 2.0.

Dans la série Renaissance, la lumière prime et s’exporte en Afrique. […] Peindre, c’est comprendre d’où réside la puissance du mouvement, savoir où se cache la ligne de force sur laquelle il s’appuie, où transmettre les sensations par l’artifice de l’image. Ce geste, s’il s’explique mal, c’est parce qu’il se vit. La peinture laisse entendre ses bruits, sentir ses odeurs, qu’elles soient âcres ou douces, et donne l’envie de les toucher.

Dans le continuum de la série Renaissance, scènes et portraits, Wahib CHEHATA porte la symbolique à sa quintessence au cœur d’une série de Natures Mortes : Résilience. […] L’artiste transcende ses mythologies personnelles vers l’universel à la lumière d’une fascination pour la peinture classique.  Dans la lueur caravagesque, Wahib trace la résilience par le geste d’un peintre, traduit la vicissitude d’une vie par la morte nourriture, gisante. Sur un lit de velours, telle est la condamnation de l’existence. Wahib sacralise la mémoire de la souffrance en un théâtre figé, révélé par une lumière lustrée.

Télécharger la biographie complète et le C.V de Wahib Chehata

Demander le catalogue des œuvres disponibles de Wahib Chehata

2018

Renaissance, galerie des bains, Genève, Suisse
AB IMO PECTORE, Wahib CHehata et Abdou OUOLOGUEM, Galerie MEDINA, Bamako

2017

Série Renaissance, Galerie Daar El Bachaar, Marrakech, Maroc
Série Résilience, AKAA Fair, Paris, France
Série Renaissance, Not a gallery, Paris, France
Série Renaissance, A2Z Gallery, Paris, France
Série Renaissance, A2Z Gallery, Hong Kong
Série Renaissance, Espace d’art contemporain Montresso*, Marrakech, Maroc
Série Renaissance, Présence Commune, Musée d’art Moderne et Contemporain Mohammed VI, Rabat, Maroc
Série Renaissance, Paris ART FAIR, Paris, France
Mythologies, la photographie autrement, A2Z Gallery, Paris, France

2015
Mythologies, A2Z Gallery, Paris, France
2014
Le grand remplacement, LAZAREW Gallery, Bruxelles, Belgium

bouton-retour-montresso-jardin-rouge

VIDEOS de Wahib CHEHATA

EVENEMENTS de Wahib CHEHATA

COPYRIGHT © MONTRESSO 2016