Group Show – Red Light District

Jardin Rouge – Marrakech – December 2014

A smell of spray can and acrylic paint, colours and style… Red Light District invites spectators to examine their own perception in order to reveal their visual bias by observing and analyzing the works of six artists:   ECB, Ceet, Benjamin Laading, Reso, 310 and Denis Tevekov.

Hendrik Beikirch, a German artist also known as ECB, immortalises brief encounters in his portraits while the mascot of the artist CEET, a chicken under a mutation process, invites itself along with celebrities.

Benjamin Laading’s work echoes the celebration of the unexpected, the deterioration, the vandalism; and questions the position of counterculture in our societies.  Reso boasts his tag and plays with the overlapping of lettering and calligraphy, the result of a crossing between the East and the West.

While 310 manipulates art’s iconic images in a nostalgic fashion, Denis Tevekov’s gesture is comparable to a flashing outburst, an energetic momentum suspended in time.

Download the exhibition catalogue

(Only in french)

COPYRIGHT © MONTRESSO 2019

Group Show – Red Light District

Jardin Rouge   I   Déc 2014

Une petite odeur de bombe aérosol et d’acrylique, des couleurs et du style… Red Light District invite le spectateur à analyser son propre regard afin de démasquer ses propres préjugésvisuels en observant et analysant les œuvres de six artistes : ECB, Ceet, Benjamin Laading, Reso, 310 et Denis Tevekov.

Hendrik Beikirch, artiste Allemand connu sous le pseudonyme ECB immortalise dans ses portraits des rencontres furtives tandis que la mascotte de l’artiste CEET, un poulet en voie de mutation, s’invite aux côtés de célébrités.

Le travail de Benjamin Laading fait écho à la célébration de l’accidentel, la dégradation, le vandalisme; et questionne la place de la contre-culture dans nos sociétés. Reso impose son tag et se joue de la superposition de lettrage et de calligraphie, résultat d’une rencontre entre l’orient et l’occident.

Alors que 310 manipule les images iconiques de l’art de manière nostalgique, le geste de Denis Tevekov est fulgurance, instant d’énergie suspendu dans le temps.

Télécharger le dossier de presse
Télécharger le catalogue d’exposition

COPYRIGHT © MONTRESSO 2016