Armand BOUA

Armand Boua, born 1978 in Abidjan, Ivory Coast. Graduated of the National National School of Fine Arts of ivory Coast, Technical Center of Applied Arts, Ste Mary Training Institute, Museum of Civilization, he lives and works in Abidjan, Ivory Coast.

The works of Armand Boua reveal the lives of children living on the streets, its demonstrate the violence and the political struggles in West Africa. It is in Abidjan, the economic capital at the crossroads of urbanization and industrialization, that the artist’s sensitivity sharpens. His work on children is inspired by street scenes where urban migration creates ethnic, linguistic, cultural and social entanglements.

In the continuation of his work undertaken for nearly five years, the artist develops in the Jardin Rouge a series of striking portraits of street children in his hometown. If he has already treated this subject by painting on cardboard to remind the precarious support that these orphans use to sleep, this time Armand Boua uses local newspapers and magazines to make collages on canvases.

The compositions of Armand Boua stand out by a textured pictorial layer through the use of tar and acrylic used on recycled materials. Each layer is applied then torn off, stripped in order to let appear abstract forms. The stagings are, as the street is, deconstructed. All the originality of Armand Boua’s work lies in the delicate balance between the violence of the execution and the delicate treatment of his subject.

Download the full biography and C.V. of Armand Boua

Ask for the available works of Armand Boua

Ask for the available works

(Exhibition selection)

Solo shows

2019
Kouman de Kekechoz, Jack bell Gallery, London, England

2018
Brobrosseurs, Cécile Fakhoury Gallery, Dakar, Senegal
Dans le Djassa, Lars Kristian Bode (LKB/G) Hamburg
Mogo de Poy-City, Jack bell Gallery, London, England

2017
ChildrenofAfrica, Create Hub Gallery, Dubai
ClacheMoi, Jack Bell Gallery, London, England

 

Collective exhibitions

2019
1-54 Contemporary African Art Fair, New York, Jack Bell Gallery, New York City, USA
In-discipline, Travelling exhibition at Espace Expressions, CDG Foundation, Rabat, Morocco
In-discipline, Montresso* Art Space, Montresso* Art Foundation, Marrakech, Morocco

2018
Talisman in the age of difference » Gallery Stephen Friedman, London, England
Artistic Surgery for Broken Faces. Galerie, PIASA, Paris, France

2017
1-54 Contemporary African Art Fair at Somerset House, London, England
1-54 Contemporary African Art Fair, New York, USA
Ethan Cohen New York at VOLTA, USA

2016
Ethan Cohen New York at Art Miami, USA
1-54 Contemporary African Art Fair, New York (USA) and London (England)

bouton-retour-montresso-jardin-rouge

COPYRIGHT © MONTRESSO 2016

Armand BOUA

Armand Boua est né en 1978 à Abidjan, en Côte d’Ivoire. Diplômé de l’École Nationale des Beaux-Arts de Côte d’Ivoire, du Centre Technique des arts appliqués, de l’Institut de formation Sainte Marie et du Musée des civilisations, il vit et travaille à Abidjan.

Les œuvres d’Armand Boua révèlent la vie des enfants vivant dans la rue, elles témoignent de la violence et des luttes politiques en Afrique de l’Ouest. C’est à Abidjan, capitale économique au carrefour de l’urbanisation et de l’industrialisation, que la sensibilité de l’artiste s’aiguise. Son travail sur les enfants est inspiré de scènes de rue où les migrations urbaines créent des enchevêtrements ethniques, linguistiques, culturels et sociaux.

Les compositions d’Armand Boua se distinguent par une facture texturée grâce à l’usage du goudron et de l’acrylique employés sur des matériaux de récupération. Chaque couche est appliquée puis arrachée, dépouillée, laissant apparaitre des formes abstraites. Les mises en scènes sont, à l’image de la rue, déconstruites. Toute l’originalité du travail d’Armand Boua réside ainsi dans le délicat équilibre entre la violence de son exécution et le traitement délicat de son sujet.

Dans la continuation de son travail entrepris depuis près de cinq ans, l’artiste développe au Jardin Rouge une série de portraits percutants sur les enfants des rues de sa ville natale. S’il a déjà traité ce sujet en peignant sur des cartons pour rappeler le support précaire que ces orphelins utilisent pour dormir, Armand Boua utilise cette fois des journaux et magazines locaux pour réaliser des collages sur toiles.

Télécharger la biographie complète et le C.V. d’Armand Boua

Demander le catalogue des oeuvres disponibles d’Armand Boua

(Sélection d’expositions)

Expositions personnelles

2019
« Kouman de Kekechoz », Jack bell Gallery, London, England

2018
« Brobrosseurs » , Cécile Fakhoury Gallery, Dakar, Senegal
“Dans le Djassa”, Lars Kristian Bode (LKB/G) Hamburg
“Mogo de Poy-City” , Jack bell Gallery, London, England

2017
«ChildrenofAfrica» Create Hub Gallery, Dubai
ClacheMoi”, Jack Bell Gallery, London, England

 

Expositions collectives

2018
Talisman in the age of difference » Gallery Stephen Friedman, London, England
Artistic Surgery for Broken Faces. Galerie, PIASA, Paris

2017 
1-54 Contemporary African Art Fair at Somerset House, London
1-54 Contemporary African Art Fair, New York May
Ethan Cohen New York at VOLTA

2016 
Ethan Cohen New York at Art Miami, USA
1-54 Contemporary African Art Fair, New York (USA) and London (England)

COPYRIGHT © MONTRESSO 2016