MosaïqueI_Fond_Vert_SITE_2

IN-DISCIPLINE 

MONTRESSO* ART SPACE 

25.02 – 31.03.2019

IN-DISCIPLINE PROGRAM

IN-DISCIPLINE is a travelling program that supports creation and diffusion of visual artists first triennial phase in Africa and then in other regions of the world. Its particularity is to rely on one hand on in a Morocco and in particular on the city of Marrakech as a platform of international visibility, and on the other hand on structures strongly implicated in the promotion of arts and culture in the chosen countries. The strength of this pilot phase is to combine research and laboratory time with moments of direct contact with professionals and with the international art market.

IN-DISCIPLINE is joined by a major figure of contemporary African art, in the person of Yacouba Konaté, curator, writer, art critic, professor of philosophy and curating. Among his many commitments, this fervent defender and connoisseur of contemporary African and Ivorian creation is a member of the Academy of Arts, Sciences and Cultures of Africa and Diasporas of Abidjan, director of the Rotonde des Arts Contemporains in the Nour-al-Hayat Gallery, Plateau, Abidjan. Like no other, he will accompany the dual approach of the program IN-DISCIPLINE, which beyond supporting a selection of young artists, aims to contribute to the development of the art market in Africa.

In-Discipline will be unveiled as part of the 1-54 contemporary art fair in February 2019 at the Montresso* Art Space.

MosaïqueI_Fond_Vert_SITE_2

SELECTED ARTISTS

Armand Boua

Armand Boua, born 1978 in Abidjan, Ivory Coast. Graduated of the National National School of Fine Arts of ivory Coast, Technical Center of Applied Arts, Ste Mary Training Institute, Museum of Civilization, he lives and works in Abidjan, Ivory Coast. The works of Armand Boua reveal the lives of children living on the streets, its demonstrate the violence and the political struggles in West Africa. It is in Abidjan, the economic capital at the crossroads of urbanization and industrialization, that the artist’s sensitivity sharpens. His work on children is inspired by street scenes where urban migration creates ethnic, linguistic, cultural and social entanglements.

Gopal Dagnogo

Gopal Dagnogo was born in 1973 in Abidjan, Ivory Coast. In 1991, Gopal Dagnogo moved to Bordeaux to study art. He returned to Africa six years later and settled in Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso, to learn traditional bronze techniques. The artist lives and works in Paris today. Gopal Dagnogo does not prepare in advance what he paints, it is the painting that decides for him, he is only the instrument, the tool of his own work. This spontaneity reflects the soul of the artist, abandoning as much as possible the mimicry to move on to creation.

Joachim Silué

Kagnédjatou Joachim Silué was born in 1972 in Abidjan, Ivory Coast. Graduated from the Academy of Fine Arts in Bologna, he is at the same time painter, sculptor and designer. He lives and works today in Modena, Italy. Admiring the still lives of Joachim Silué, it is difficult not to see a tribute to life, to senses. Half way between painting and sculpture his works are composed of bitumen, wire or recycled wood whose materiality is palpable.

Pascal Konan

Pascal Konan was born in 1979 in Abidjan, Ivory Coast. Graduated from the National School of Fine Arts in Abidjan, Pascal Konan teaches today painting while practicing his artistic activity. Staging the daily life of the inhabitants of Abidjan, the artist interprets a particular emotion, the one produced by African cities through their crowd and the exuberant profusion of sounds and smells that characterize them. Pascal Konan’s whole approach lies both in the exaltation of a happy childhood spent in one of the suburbs of Abidjan, but also in the testimony of the precariousness of an Africa grappling with urbanity.

Yéanzi

Yéanzi was born in 1988 in Katiola, Ivory Coast. Graduated with honors from the National School of Fine Arts in Abidjan in 2012, Yéanzi worked as a portraitist for a dozen years. He lives and works today in Bingerville, Ivory Coast. The question of identity is at the heart of Yéanzi's work. Through the portrait, the artist implicitly reveals the personality of individuals with dual identities, regularly using assumed names. Such as the testimony of the mask they wear in society, Yéanzi gives their names to his works. The identity is not absolute, as a moving concept, it is for the artist a permanent and perpetual quest because we can be brought to integrate another society, to espouse another vision, sometimes to deny the old one.

IN-DISCIPLINE 

Armand Boua / Gopal Dagnogo / Pascal Konan / Joachim Silué / Yéanzi 

1-54_logo

COPYRIGHT © MONTRESSO 2016

MosaïqueI_Fond_Vert_SITE_2

IN-DISCIPLINE 

ESPACE D’ART MONTRESSO*  

25.02 – 31.03.2019

LE PROGRAMME IN-DISCIPLINE 

IN-DISCIPLINE est un programme itinérant d’aide à la création et à la diffusion destiné aux artistes plasticiens dans une première phase triennale en Afrique puis dans d’autres régions du monde. Sa particularité est de s’appuyer, d’une part sur le Maroc et en particulier la ville de Marrakech comme plateforme de visibilité internationale, et d’autre part sur des structures fortement impliquées dans les pays suscités pour la promotion des arts et de la culture. La force de cette phase pilote est d’allier des temps de recherche et de laboratoire, à des temps de mise en relation direct avec les professionnels et avec le marché international de l’art.

IN-DISCIPLINE s’adjoint le concours d’une figure incontournable de l’art africain contemporain, en la personne de Yacouba Konaté, conservateur, écrivain, critique d’art, professeur de philosophie et curateur. Parmi ses nombreux engagements, ce fervent défenseur et grand connaisseur de la création africaine et ivoirienne contemporaine est membre de l’Académie des Arts, des Sciences et des Cultures d’Afrique et des Diasporas d’Abidjan, directeur de la Rotonde des Arts Contemporains dans la galerie Nour-al-Hayat, au Plateau à Abidjan. Comme nul autre, il saura accompagner la double démarche du programme IN-DISCIPLINE, qui au delà de soutenir une sélection de jeunes artistes, vise à contribuer au développement du marché de l’art en Afrique. 

Dans le cadre de la Foire d’Art Contemporain Africain 1-54, les œuvres des artistes sélectionnés seront dévoilées à l’espace d’art Montresso* à Marrakech.

Consulter le dossier documentaire IN-DISCIPLINE 

MosaïqueI_Fond_Vert_SITE_2

LES ARTISTES SÉLECTIONNÉS 

Armand Boua

Armand Boua est né en 1978 à Abidjan, en Côte d’Ivoire. Diplômé de l’École Nationale des Beaux-Arts de Côte d’Ivoire, du Centre Technique des arts appliqués, de l’Institut de formation Sainte Marie et du Musée des civilisations, il vit et travaille à Abidjan. Les œuvres d’Armand Boua révèlent la vie des enfants vivant dans la rue, elles témoignent de la violence et des luttes politiques en Afrique de l’Ouest. C’est à Abidjan, capitale économique au carrefour de l’urbanisation et de l’industrialisation, que la sensibilité de l’artiste s’aiguise. Son travail sur les enfants est inspiré de scènes de rue où les migrations urbaines créent des enchevêtrements ethniques, linguistiques, culturels et sociaux.

Gopal Dagnogo

Gopal Dagnogo est né en 1973 à Abidjan, en Côte d’Ivoire. En 1991, Gopal Dagnogo s’installe à Bordeaux pour suivre un cursus en arts plastique. Il retourne en Afrique six ans plus tard et s’établi à Ouagadougou au Burkina Faso afin d’apprendre les techniques de bronze traditionnelles. L’artiste vit et travaille aujourd’hui à Paris. Gopal Dagnogo ne prépare pas à l’avance ce qu’il va peindre, c’est la peinture qui décide pour lui, il n’est que l’instrument, l’outil de sa propre œuvre. Cette spontanéité traduit le fond de l’âme de l’artiste, délaissant le plus possible les effets de mimétisme pour laisser part à la création.

Joachim Silué

Kagnédjatou Joachim Silué est né en 1972 à Abidjan, en Côte d’Ivoire. En admirant les natures mortes de Joachim Silué, il est difficile de ne pas y voir un hommage à la vie, aux sens. A cheval entre la peinture et la sculpture, ses oeuvres se composent de bitume, de fils de fer ou encore de bois recyclés dont la matérialité est palpable. L’artiste donne ainsi une importance aux éléments usagés ayant absorbé une forme de souffrance, une histoire. Le souvenir de son passé l’anime. Non sans une certaine élégance, la palette réduite composée de blancs, de noirs et de beiges souligne la présence narrative de ces matériaux bruts dont Joachim Silué s’applique à sublimer les derniers instants de vie, comme pour leur octroyer une ultime fonction.

Pascal Konan

Pascal Konan est né en 1979 à Abidjan, Côte d’Ivoire. Diplômé de l’Ecole Nationale des Beaux-Arts d’Abidjan, Pascal Konan y enseigne aujourd’hui la peinture tout en pratiquant son activité artistique. Mettant en scène la vie quotidienne des habitants d’Abidjan, l’artiste se fait l’interprète d’une émotion particulière, celle que produisent les villes africaines à travers leur affluence et l’exubérante profusion de sons et d’odeurs qui les caractérisent. Toute la démarche de Pascal Konan réside ainsi à la fois dans l’exaltation d’une enfance heureuse passée dans un des faubourgs d’Abidjan, mais également dans le témoignage de la précarité d’une Afrique aux prises avec l’urbanité.

Yéanzi

Yéanzi est né en 1988 à Katiola, en Côte d’Ivoire. Diplômé de l’École Nationale des Beaux-Arts d’Abidjan dont il sort major de sa promotion en 2012, Yéanzi a travaillé comme portraitiste de commande pendant une dizaine d’années. Il vit et travaille aujourd’hui à Bingerville en Côte d’Ivoire. La question de l’identité est au cœur du travail de Yéanzi. A travers le portrait, l’artiste révèle en filigrane la personnalité d’individus à la double identité, utilisant régulièrement des noms d’emprunt. Tel le témoignage du masque qu’ils portent en société, Yéanzi donnera leurs noms à ses œuvres.

IN-DISCIPLINE 

Armand Boua / Gopal Dagnogo / Pascal Konan / Joachim Silué / Yéanzi 

1-54_logo

COPYRIGHT © MONTRESSO 2016